Bufete vs MyCase: compared for small law firms
Prices checked on 2 November 2026, on the public pages of MyCase. Vendor prices change, so check the current ones before you decide. Bufete prices are in US dollars.
MyCase and Bufete side by side
The table covers only what each product publishes. Where a MyCase page says nothing, the cell says so.
| Aspect | MyCase | Bufete by OnePDA |
|---|---|---|
| Price per user | Basic $50 billed annually or $60 monthly. Pro $100 or $120. Advanced $130 or $150. MyCase Accounting is an add-on at $39 per user per month on Pro and Advanced. | $39 per lawyer per month. Staff seats $15 per user per month. One plan. |
| Trial | 10 days, no credit card. | Invite-only today: you request access. |
| Minimum term | Monthly plans are month to month. "No long-term contract or setup fee is required." Annual plans are paid up front and non-refundable. | No minimum term and no set-up fee. |
| Court-rules calendaring | Not in Basic. Pro and Advanced list court-rules integration marked "subscription required". The price and provider are not stated. | Costa Rican procedural deadlines, each with the article cited. No US court rules yet. |
| Document encryption, as each vendor words it | "128-bit SSL for data in transit and 256-bit AES for stored data". Also SOC 2 certified and PCI compliant. | Documents are encrypted end to end, so we cannot read them. MFA on every account. |
| Payments and accounting | LawPay payments on every plan: card, eCheck/ACH, next-business-day deposits. The processing rate is not published. Trust accounting in every plan. | Not yet. |
| Languages | English. No Spanish interface or support is mentioned on the pages we read. | Spanish and English. |
| Support | Support, on-demand training and guided implementation are listed. Support hours are not stated. | Spanish and English, Monday to Friday, 9:00 to 18:00 Spain/Costa Rica time. |
What MyCase does better
MyCase has features Bufete does not have yet.
- Scale: MyCase says it serves 18,000+ firms. Its trust accounting is described as endorsed by 135+ state and local bars plus the ABA.
- Payments: LawPay is built in on every plan, with next-business-day deposits and trust-compliant handling. Bufete has no payments yet.
- Client communication: two-way texting, intake forms, a legal CRM, e-signature and a client portal on Pro, and automated workflows.
- Integrations: 70+ integrations and a QuickBooks sync, plus an iOS app on Pro and up.
- AI: writing and document assistants on Pro, and a case assistant and discovery assistant with OCR on Advanced.
- US court rules on Pro and Advanced through its court-rules integration, which Bufete does not offer.
- Guided implementation, data migration and training sessions.
What Bufete does differently
Documents are encrypted end to end and we cannot read them. MyCase says "128-bit SSL for data in transit and 256-bit AES for stored data". It does not say end to end or who holds the keys. That is silence on the page, not proof that MyCase lacks anything, and we have not tested MyCase.
Bufete has a deadline engine for Costa Rican procedural deadlines that cites the article behind each date. MyCase's pages do not mention Costa Rica.
Bufete has a court-email inbox for the Poder Judicial's notifications. Forward the court's email and the deadline is computed with the article. It does not replace the official notification channel.
Bufete is Spanish first, with support in Spanish and English. The price is $39 per lawyer per month with no set-up and no minimum term. MyCase Basic is $50 billed annually and has no court rules, so the prices do not buy the same thing.
Who should pick which
A US firm that needs US court rules today should pick MyCase (Pro or Advanced) or Clio, with payments and trust accounting in the same tool.
A Costa Rican firm, or a Spanish-speaking small firm, that wants encrypted documents and the Costa Rican deadline engine should request access to Bufete. Bufete is invite-only today. Payments, accounting, legal research, document automation and US court rules are not there yet.
If you are weighing Clio too, read Bufete vs Clio. For firms that mainly need a website and local search, see OnePDA for law firms.
Questions
How much does MyCase cost?
MyCase lists Basic at $50 per user per month billed annually or $60 billed monthly, Pro at $100 or $120, and Advanced at $130 or $150. MyCase Accounting is an add-on at $39 per user per month. Prices checked on 2 November 2026.
Is Bufete cheaper than MyCase?
Bufete is $39 per lawyer per month, against $50 for MyCase Basic billed annually. Basic has no court-rules calendaring, and Bufete has no US court rules, so check which deadlines you need before you compare prices.
Does MyCase encrypt documents end to end?
MyCase says "128-bit SSL for data in transit and 256-bit AES for stored data". The page does not use the words end to end and does not say who holds the keys. We have not tested MyCase and make no claim beyond what the page says.
Does MyCase calculate court deadlines?
Pro and Advanced list court-rules integration marked "subscription required". The price and provider are not stated. For Costa Rican deadlines with the article cited, that is what Bufete's engine does.
Does MyCase work in Spanish, and is Bufete available now?
No Spanish interface or support is mentioned on the MyCase pages we read. Bufete works in Spanish and English, with support Monday to Friday, 9:00 to 18:00 Spain/Costa Rica time. Access is by invitation today: you can request it.
Sources
Prices checked on 2 November 2026. Every figure about MyCase comes from its own public pages:
- https://www.mycase.com/pricing/
- https://www.mycase.com/features/
- https://www.mycase.com/solutions/criminal-law-software/
If a figure has changed, write to [email protected] and we will correct it.